9 Banco barristers featured in Doyles Guide to Australia’s Leading Competition Law Barristers

15 October 2021

Banco Chambers congratulates its members for their inclusion in the 2021 edition of Doyles Guide to Australia's Leading Competition Law Barristers. Nine Banco Chambers barristers were featured across the listings in the Senior Counsel and Junior Counsel lists.

Banco Chambers' expertise in this area is well known, with multiple Banco barristers often appearing for the regulator as well as for some of Australia's largest corporations. Recent examples include ACCC v Bluescope a significant civil proceeding concerning alleged cartel conduct in which Cameron Moore SC and Peter Strickland appeared for Bluescope, while Ruth Higgins SC appeared for Mr Ellis, a former Bluescope employee; the Epic Games litigationin which Epic Games, the makers of the video game Fortnite, have commenced proceedings against Apple and Google alleging misuse of market power for the way the Fortnite app is sold to users through Google and Apple's app stores. Anais d'Arville, Danielle Forrester and Katie Sutton are briefed for Epic Games. Robert Yezerski is acting for Google;  ACCC v Port of Newcastle, a significant proceeding brought by the ACCC against the Port alleging anti competitive conduct. Cameron Moore SC, Anais d'Arville, and Declan Roche are appearing for the Port; ACCC v Google, a regulatory proceeding concerning allegations of misleading or deceptive conduct in respect of representations Google made about its data retention policies for users of its apps. The matter is currently before the Full Federal Court. Kate Richardson SC and Anais d'Arville act for the Regulator while Peter Brereton SC, Robert Yezerski, and Sebastian Hartford Davis act for Google; and CDPP v ANZ, a significant and complex criminal cartel prosecution in which multiple Banco barristers hold briefs for banks and bank executives. The matter is listed for trial for 5 months in 2022.

The barristers featured were:

Senior Counsel

  • Justin Gleeson SC
  • Ruth Higgins SC (preeminent)
  • Cameron Moore SC (preeminent)
  • John Sheahan QC

Junior Counsel

  • Anais d'Arville
  • Declan Roche (preeminent)
  • Fiona Roughley
  • Peter Strickland
  • Robert Yezerski (preeminent)